College: It’s not what you think

“you are so excited to get started at a real university, but your personality says otherwise.”

When you imagine life in college, what comes to mind? Parties? Free-time? Making a lot of friends and memories? Hanging out with dorm-mates? Unfortunately, that isn’t the case for every college student.

Picture this: You’re attending a community college to finish up your general education requirements at a different location, but instead you take classes that appeal to you; You realize the major you want/need for your goals isn’t available at said college, so you start applying to other universities; You get in to a big university and move a few months later to prepare for your first year; You are so excited to get started at a real university, but your personality says otherwise. Fast forward to your second semester at the university and you’re avoiding your homework to publish a post on your blog about your not-so-fun experience so far. This is what I have to say.

28E92ACC-C469-4C8D-8D6C-B88AB8F7EBE0.jpeg

Autumn 2015. My first week at a university was very exciting. I attended some events to meet other people. I tried out a really cool sorority called Delta Xi Phi. That didn’t work out for me personally, so I kept to myself in my room, only made one “temporary” friend, and put on some pounds (freshman 15 is real, y’all). What’s worse is my boyfriend lives in a different country and can’t help me. I failed a class, and that is when I decided that spring is going to be much better. Over winter break, I got most of my laziness out of my system and started thinking of ways I could change myself. For example, changing majors (for the third time), workout plans, and joining clubs were the changes I could think of to better improve myself.

IMG_4346

Spring 2016. I came back to school and definitely felt different, but making friends is really hard. So far, I’ve made two friends (which is more than last semester), and started putting myself out there like joining clubs, getting out of the room, and going to the campus gym. Now I’m writing this blog for whomever needs to read this.

Reality Check! Do your research before you get your hopes up. Know yourself before you put yourself out there. Try to have fun, but don’t expect too much. Also, school is super important.. that is the main reason you are on this article, right? You want to know what college is like and what to expect. If you find yourself in a rut, do not hesitate to ask for help! This is so important because before you know it you could fall behind. Do your homework on time, make sure to read your assigned chapters the day it’s assigned, and try not to procrastinate.

Do you have any experiences/advice to add/share? Comment below!

Author: ayakajay

I am half Okinawan, half African-American. I am an alumnae of The Ohio State University. I am spreading the word on life as a Third Culture Kid, academia, career-oriented, family person.

Leave a comment